Summer Reading Highlights

Summer Reading Highlights

Does anyone else ever run into the problem of when you discover all these new, cool books and put them on hold at the library and then they all become available at the SAME time? Then it becomes a rush of prioritizing which books you want to read first and which ones you can wait to put on hold again. Well that happens to me all the time.

It goes like this: You gasp in excitement when you get the email notifying you that your hold has become available, so you immediately download it onto your kindle or you rush to the library to pick it up. A few hours later you get another notification that another book has become available and you download it. The next day you get yet ANOTHER email for a book and this happens at least 4 more times until you have no loans left and you’re trying to figure out what TV show you’re putting on hold to find time to read all of these books.

Sometimes (most of the time) I don’t get to all of the books. But I’ve learned to relax when it comes to reading. I’m probably never going to read every single book out there, especially when there’s so many great new ones that come out all the time. For the most part, I read for pleasure. Sure reading inspires me and I learn new things all the time but I read because it’s fun. Is it a form of escapism? Definitely. But it’s more than that.
As I’ve gotten older I tried to pressure myself to read more classic literature or educational nonfiction about history or technology  or even self-help. I love the idea of self help books. But I can never get into them.  The ones about “adulting” or productivity or the Secret or whatever the newest diet trend is really fascinate me. I try but I just find myself staring at the pages, reading but not really taking it in.

And as far as classic literature, you know the kind. If you google “classic literature” you’ll find results like War and Peace, Jane Eyre or Pride and Prejudice. These are books that we’ve been conditioned to think that “writers” enjoy or MUST read. I’m sure they are all very beautiful pieces of literature and there’s a reason that they’re classics, but it’s not for me, at least not right now. And I don’t feel bad. Maybe my tastes are too vapid to get the big deal, but for now I’m going to read for joy. If that means I spend all my time going through so called “chick-lit” novels or 80’s/90’s teen horror books (think Fear Street or Christopher Pike), then fuck it. Life is too short, read what you want.

For me reading is essential and it’s important to make time for it. Every year when I come up with a list of resolutions, “read more” is always at the top. So I’ve been participating in a reading challenge where I’ve elected to read 50 books this year. Admittedly I am behind. I’ve only read 26 so far and we’re much past the halfway mark for the year. I’ve got some ways to go so I’m looking forward to these cozy fall reading days.

That being said I wanted to share a few of my favorite reads from this summer.

Limelight: A Novel by [Poeppel, Amy]

Limelight by Amy Poeppel: I adored this book! I read Amy’s debut, Small Admissions and I really enjoyed her writing. It’s hard to describe that feeling of reading someone’s writing and it suits you so well, you could be reading anything from them and love it. This book is about a woman who relocates her family from their idyllic suburban home in Texas to a cramped apartment in New York. Between trying to get her family to fit in the Big apple, an accident of chance leads to her working to a very bratty teen superstar (think Justin Bieber but worse). This was one of the first books I got from the Chicago Public Library and it helped me cope with the move because I could relate to the protagonist.

Providence: A Novel by [Kepnes, Caroline]

Providence by Caroline Kepnes: Like Poeppel, Kepnes is a writer I just vibe with. Like reallyyyy vibe with. I was introduced to her by her debut, You (which just became a show premiering on Lifetime this week!) and that book reminded me of why I love reading so much. I devoured that book in 2 days. She has a way of writing villainous characters and making them the hero in your eyes. Told from the point of view of a stalker Joe Goldberg, this book follows him as he falls in love with Beck, typical attention-seeking millenial and he does anything to keep her close to him, including murder. Don’t fall in love with Joe, okay he’s a murderer. Wait, I’m talking about her newest book Providence! But do yourself a favor and read You. Providence is more of a supernatural romance and it’s told from three different POV’s spanning over several years. Filled with H.P. Lovecraft references, and a plot that kind of revolves around The Dunwich Horror, this book makes you want to rush to the end to see how this tragic romance plays out. Honestly, this is probably my least favorite book of hers but her writing makes it worth a read. She has a knack for writing about murderous men but it’s her strong character development and voice that is so distinct and compelling. Her characters come alive right there on the page, leaving you wanting more when the book is finished.

Something New: Tales from a Makeshift Bride by [Knisley, Lucy]

Something New: Tales from a Makeshift Bride by Lucy Knisley: This is a graphic novel that details one bride’s journey down the aisle. I haven’t read too many, if any graphic novels that I can remember so this was a nice introduction. Lucy never planned on being a traditional bride and she writes about her mixed feelings of traditions and social expectations that come with weddings.  Accompanied with fun drawings and depictions of events and witty observations of wedding culture as a whole, this book is a MUST read for new brides and for anyone who wants a look into the world of wedding planning. I loved her take on different wedding conventions and found we hold similar views on traditional weddings and staying true to ourselves during the process.

One Day We'll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter: Essays by [Koul, Scaachi]

Someday We’ll All Be Dead and None of This Will Matter: Essays by Scaachi Koul: Again this is another writer I just “get”. In this collection of essays, she shares personal stories about a range of topics like getting stuck in a skirt in a fitting room, bringing her white boyfriend home to her Kashmiri parents that immigrated from India, and a long five day family wedding in Jammu. Koul also tackles serious topics such as racism, rape culture and the patriarchy. She writes the way she talks and I love watching her on Buzzfeed’s Follow This on Netflix. Read a few of her articles on Buzzfeed to get a taste of her intelligent wit and be prepared to laugh out loud while reading this book.

Well, That Escalated Quickly: Memoirs and Mistakes of an Accidental Activist by [Ramsey, Franchesca]

I’ve been following Fran for a few years now with her podcast Last Name Basis with her husband Patrick and MTV’s Decoded and all of her social media pages. So I was super excited when I heard she was coming out with a book. Her book reads just like her personality. Reading it, I felt like I was just in conversation with an old friend. You can use this book as a tool for activism and how to advocate for social justice which a lot of us could use! She covers a range of topics like call out culture, internet trolls and how to talk to your offensive friends and family members. She shares her rise to internet fame and is honest about her mistakes in a real humorous way. Get this book!

A Princess in Theory: Reluctant Royals by [Cole, Alyssa]

A Princess in Theory: Reluctant Royals by Alyssa Cole: The summer wouldn’t be complete without a good romance novel.The romance genre is new for me and I’m so glad I discovered Alyssa Cole. This was a fun read about a grad student studying epidemiology and juggling lab work and different jobs to stay afloat who discovers she’s been betrothed to an African prince. This book gave me serious Black Panther vibes in regards to the prince and his fictional country, Thesolo which I am all for. It’s the first book in the Reluctant Royals series. I look forward to reading more of Cole’s work and recommend this book if you’re looking for a good romance by a woman of color.

Check out these books for your TBR lists and let me know what you think!

Leave a comment